China Southern suspends flights amid Omicron variant outbreak

China Southern Airlines said it will suspend routes from 37 countries to China starting Tuesday, including those via a third country.

The countries include 24 countries in Africa, seven countries in Asia, three countries in Europe and three countries in North America.

People who have purchased tickets from one of the countries can get refunds, China Southern said on Monday.

The move followed announcements by several countries of the closing of borders or strict quarantine rules for international travelers amid the outbreak of the Omicron variant.

The airline also suggested that overseas passengers should check epidemic prevention policies and requirements posted by local Chinese diplomatic and consular missions before traveling.

During a press briefing on China’s epidemic control and prevention measures on Tuesday, a spokesperson for the National Health Commission said that the pressure to avoid imported cases of COVID-19 is increasing, especially as the omicron variant has already spread in some countries and regions.

China’s Civil Aviation Administration on Friday suspended four international flights due to imported COVID-19 cases – from Cairo to Hangzhou, from Istanbul to Guangzhou, from Nairobi to Guangzhou and from Paris to Tianjin.

Source: Global Times

You might also like